(657) 278-7529


The Student Recreation Center features an indoor climbing wall that is suitable for all climber skill levels. The rock wall is a showcase element and is located in a highly visible space within the facility. The 1,100 square foot wall is utilized for bouldering, top rope, and lead climbing. It is 30' high and 27' wide and accommodates 8 top rope stations.

Student Recreation Center Rock Wall


All open climb participants must have passed the top rope safety belay test via the Climb I class, the KHS 114A class, or test out by appointment for $10.


During Open Climb, the Rock Wall staff will provide all the necessary supervision during your climb to the top. All equipment is provided and no prior experience is necessary. Try the Rock Wall! Free to all members and guests. One visit per person.

Fall 2016 Open Climb Hours
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday


Date Event Time Price
9/15/2016 Slack Line Night 8-11PM Free
9/28/2016 Greet the Greens 5-9PM Free
10/12/2016 Dough-Knot Look Down 5-9PM Free
10/27/2016 Costume Collaboration 5-9PM Free
11/3/2016 Neon Night 5-9PM Free
12/7/2016 Are You a Slacker? 5-9PM Free

Climb El Cap

Join us during Open Climb hours from September 6 to November 10 to attempt to climb "El Cap". Climb "pitches" at the SRC Rockwall and the staff will track your progress. Win a price for reaching the summit (3000 feet)! A great way to cross-train and get in shape! Contest concludes Noveber 13.


Classes and workshops are available by appointment by calling (657) 278-7529. Please register a minimum of 48 hours in advance. For more information on registering for classes and workshops please visit the Recreation Services Desk on the second floor of the SRC.

Fundamentals 101

A beginning class designed to teach the new climber all the safety skills needed to pass the Rock Wall Belay test. This two-hour class includes all equipment and gives you the skills required for access to the Rock Wall during Open Climb.

Date Day Time
9/14/2016 Wednesday 5:30-7:30PM
9/23/2016 Friday 10-NOON
9/27/2016 Tuesday 4-6PM
9/29/2016 Thursday 5:30-7:30PM
10/3/2016 Monday 5:30-7:30PM
10/5/2016 Wednesday 5:30-7:30PM
10/13/2016 Thursday 5:30-7:30PM
10/19/2016 Wednesday 4-6PM
10/20/2016 Thursday 5:30-7:30PM
10/25/2016 Tuesday 5:30-7:30PM
10/28/2016 Friday 10-NOON
11/2/2016 Wednesday 4-6PM
11/8/2016 Tuesday 5:30-7:30PM
11/14/2016 Monday 5:30-7:30PM
11/16/2016 Wednesday 4-6PM
11/29/2016 Tuesday 4-6PM
12/1/2016 Thursday 5:30-7:30PM
Available by appointment: Call (657) 278-PLAY

Fundamentals 201

This class is designed for those climbers who want to improve climbing movement and route solving skills. This session will focus on how to use the entire body to its best advantage to climb with the greatest ease and style. Explore the essential techniques of balance, stance, and grip. Techniques needed to climb outdoors will also be covered, as well as training recommendations.

Date Day Time
9/9/2016 Friday NOON-1:30PM
10/14/2016 Friday 10:30-NOON
11/4/2016 Friday NOON:00-1:30PM
12/2/2016 Friday 11-NOON:30PM
Available by appointment: Call (657) 278-PLAY

Fundamentals 301

This session will cover topics dealing with members taking their climbing outdoors on real rock. We will discuss equipment needs, advanced belaying techniques, and lead climbing skills. We will discuss the local climbing areas and the logistics for planning a fun and well managed climbing trip.

Fee Structure
Class Student Member
Fundamentals 101 $25 $28
Fundamentals 201 $15 $18
Fundamentals 101 & 201 $32 $36
Fundamentals 301 $32 $36
Available by appointment: Call (657) 278-PLAY

Review our refund policy.

Associated Students, Inc. | 800 N State College Blvd., Fullerton, 92831 | California State University, Fullerton